Saturday, October 17, 2009

Palo Alto Chamber Orchestra's Sinfonia Ensemble

First Concert of the Season
A Program of Renowned Composers from Around the World

November 15th Concert Features PACO Concerto Competition Winner
and Peninsula Local Violinist, Kyoko Inagawa

PACO’s Sinfonia will perform their first concert of the 2009-2010 season on Sunday, November 15 under the direction of PACO music director Benjamin Simon. This challenging program includes movements of four primary pieces and a variety of masterpieces of the chamber music repertoire performed by small ensembles comprised of Sinfonia members. From England comes Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 11 in A Major by Baroque master George Frederic Handel. The Sinfonia Orchestra will also perform the Marcia movement from Ernst Dohnanyi's virtuosic Serenade. From Italy comes Vitali's famous Chaconne. This powerful, emotion evoking movement performed by PACO concerto competition winner and local, twelve year old Kyoko Inagawa, is sure to make an impression with both the classical music novice as well as seasoned listeners alike. From Russia , The Sinfonia Orchestra will also performAnton Arensky's well-loved Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky. The concert will begin at 3:00 pm. at the Cubberley Theater, 4000 Middlefield Rd. in Palo Alto . Tickets are $10 for general admission and $5 for seniors and students. For more information, visit or call (650) 856-3848.

No comments :

Post a Comment